Search The Catalog My Account

November 2013 LibraryReads

October 31, 2013 by Reader's Connection

Librarians around the country have selected these favorites from among the books to be published in late October and in November.

Bellman & Black by Diane Setterfield

Bellman & Black

 

William Bellman is a happily married father with a promising future, until an event from his childhood comes to haunt him and everyone he loves. Beautifully written with a vividly enticing setting, Bellman & Black is a truly gothic tale that will you have entwined in its arms until the very end. — Scott Lenski, Whitefish Bay Public Library, Whitefish Bay, WI

 

 

 

 

Through the Evil Days: A Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne Mystery by Julia Spencer-Fleming

Through the Evil Days
Reverend Clare Fergusson and Police Chief Russ Van Alstyne’s honeymoon retreat to the Adirondacks is interrupted by a brutal winter storm and a complicated police investigation involving a kidnapping, a drug ring and the murder of federal agents. Spencer-Fleming’s suspenseful and engrossing procedural introduces a fun, new character (Oscar the German Shepherd) and ends with a signature cliffhanger. — Leslie DeLooze, Richmond Memorial Library, Batavia, NY

 

 

The Death of Santini: The Story of a Father and His Son by Pat Conroy

The Death of Santini: The Story of a Father and His Son
“Pat Conroy’s amazing voice is back and makes me realize how much I have missed hearing it. The Death of Santini takes a hard look at what has been the most obvious influence on Conroy’s work–his family. Happily, this is not anything close to a pity party, but rather a lesson about how redemptive the powers of love and humor can be.”
Jennifer Dayton, Darien Library, Darien, CT

 

 

 

Someone Else’s Love Story by Joshilyn Jackson

Someone Else’s Love Story
Being held at gunpoint during a convenience store robbery jolts Shandi, a young single mom, out of her denial about her 3-year-old miracle son’s origins. When her rescuer, William, a geneticist with Asperger’s, offers a way to find out what really happened the night her son was conceived, Shandi has to face the past to find her own love story. I loved every page of this funny and endearing Southern novel. — Melissa DeWild, Kent District Library, Comstock Park, MI

 

 

The Valley of Amazement by Amy Tan

The Valley of Amazement

 

A new Amy Tan novel is an event. Under her sharp-eyed observations of mothers and daughters and their inexplicable bonds, is a powerful story of love, family, courage, and history. — Kaite Stover, Kansas City Public Library, Kansas City, MO

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Raven’s Eye: A Brock and Kolla Mystery by Barry Maitland

The Raven’s Eye: A Brock and Kolla Mystery

 

The latest Brock/Kolla mystery begins with a sudden death on a London houseboat. Unusual setting, great plot, wonderful writing. This fabulous series is yet to be discovered by many American lovers of British police procedurals. Great recommendation for fans of Ruth Rendell, Elizabeth George, early Martha Grimes and Deborah Crombie. — Janet Lockhart, Wake County Public Libraries, Cary, NC

 

 

 

Death of a Nightingale by Lene Kaaberbol and Agnete Friis

Death of a Nightingale

Compulsive do-gooder Nina Borg is now involved with Ukrainian detainees seeking asylum in Denmark. Among them are Natasha, an abused refugee and widow of a slain journalist, and her anxious 8-year-old daughter, Katerina. The two are pursued by a mysterious, powerful Ukrainian woman and Danish security forces, who consider Natasha a suspect in her fiance’s murder. Two plots gradually merge in a dramatic climax. Recommended for fans of Karin Fossum, Arnaldur Indridison, Colin Cotterill and mystery lovers who prefer plots that explore social justice and morality. — Margaret Donovan, Cary Memorial Library, Lexington, MA

 

Parasite by Mira Grant

Parasite

 

Mira Grant’s first outing after the completion of the Newsflesh Trilogy lives up to the standard entirely. What a creepily plausible look at the medical industry and scientific experimentation. I’m on the edge of my seat waiting for the sequel to this one. — Emily Hartman, Spring Lake District Library, Spring Lake, MI

 

 

 

 

Share!

1 comment »

  1. Steve Bridge says:

    I am very excited to see a new book by Diane Setterfield. *The Thirteenth Tale* was one of my favorite novels of the past several years. A great gothic tale, for lovers of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Archives