Search The Catalog My Account

Love in the Time of Fridges (Book Review by IMCPL Patron)

February 11, 2009 by IMCPL Patron

Love in the Time of FridgesLove in the Time of Fridges by Tim Scott

Huckleberry Lindbergh returns to the city of New Seattle to try to pick up the threads of his life. He used to be a New Seattle policeman, but he left that life to try to escape personal pain. Now, as returns, he finds the city run by the Department of Health and Safety, with their inane warnings “Don’t die for no reason, there’s really no point.” Within hours of arriving, he’s helping a girl move some contraband, sentient fridges (and a tumble dryer), getting head hacked and wondering why he returned at all.

The story is strange but it also has some really tender moments. Moreover, this is sci-fi in the vein of “Brave New World” not space opera, and it was really plausible to see how our hyper-safety conscious world could turn into the manic safety driven New Seattle. This book would appeal to fans of Jasper Fforde or Douglas Adams who are looking for a little bit of heart to go with the book’s overall silliness.

–Bethany

Share!

Archives