Category Archives: Announcement

The Serpent’s Shadow Live Webcast

The Serpent’s Shadow Live Webcast

The Kane Chronicles #3: The Serpent’s Shadow comes out May 1, 2012.

“He’s b-a-a-ack! Despite their best efforts, Carter and Sade Kane can’t seem to keep Apophis, the chaos snake, down. Now Apophis is threatening to plunge the world into eternal darkness, and the Kanes are faced with the impossible task of having to destroy him once and for all. Unfortunately, the magicians of the House of Life are on the brink of civil war, the gods are divided, and the young initiates of Brooklyn House stand almost alone against the forces of chaos.”

Join the author, Rick Riordan, for a live webcast tomorrow, May 1st! Join Rick at the Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum Planetarium in San Jose, California for a tour of actual Egyptian artifacts and a chance to ask Rick questions live!

Can’t make it on May 1? No problem! Register now and you will get an email reminder from post-live event when the webcast is archived and available for on-demand viewing at your convenience!

Follow us on Twitter! #sljrickriordan



Print This Post Print This Post

Your Wild Backyard

Your Wild Backyard


The Indiana Wildlife Federation has an online contest going on during the month of April called “What’s in your Wild Backyard? Take the online quiz for your age group (1st – 8th grade) and be entered to win one of three great prizes. Deadline to enter the contest is April 22, 2012.

We’ve had great Indiana weather this Spring! Here are some ideas to get you started exploring and having fun in your own wild backyard:

If you want to explore a little further than your own backyard here are some great places right here in Indianapolis to go find some outdoor adventure:

Some books you might like about animals, science and nature crafts right in your own backyard:
Backyard Bugs Think Like a Scientist in the Backyard Yard Monsters Backyard Cookbook
Wildlife Gardening Backyard Science Backyard Pets Backyard Detective
Backyard Science Birdhouses Organic Crafts Eco Crafts

Find more books with these Catalog Searches:

Print This Post Print This Post

Harry Potter eBooks & Audio Books Now Available

Harry Potter eBooks & Audio Books Now Available

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

Charge up your mp3 players, Nooks, Kindles, iPads and all that – as of today, Tuesday, March 27, all seven Harry Potter books are available as eBooks and digital audio books from the Pottermore Shop. Love that Jim Dale on the audio books!

The site says about eBooks: “Harry Potter eBooks are compatible with all leading eReaders, tablets and smartphones.”

The site says about audio books: “Harry Potter digital audio books are compatible with MP3 players, including iPods and hundreds of other audio devices.”

I read this in Publisher’s Weekly, “The full Pottermore site has ended beta testing and is expected to launch in early April. The site will showcase new writing by J.K. Rowling and include extensive interactive content.” Sign me up for the “new writing”!

Annnnnd, you can borrow them with your Indianapolis library card already! Just put “harry potter” in the search box.

Print This Post Print This Post

KIDS Biz Workshop

KIDS Biz Workshop


Lemonade Day is Saturday, May 19, 2012, a day when kids all over Indianapolis will sell lemonade.

Get a leg-up on Lemonade Day competition at the Kidz Biz Workshop in the Learning Curve on Saturday, April 14, 2012 from 1-4 pm! Young entrepreneurs can learn skills to run their own lemonade stand.

You don’t have to wait for the workshop day to get started!

In March and April kids all over Indianapolis will learn  how to start, own and operate their own business – a lemonade stand. Each kid who registers will receive a bright yellow backpack - inside is everything you need to prepare for Lemonade Day. Get a backpack, make a plan and get started making some money! Here’s how:

 Prepare for Lemonade Day

  • When you get your backpack, you’ll find two workbooks: one for you and one for the adult working with you. Spend the next few lemonade-day-image-2weeks – at your own pace – working through these lessons about starting, owning and operating a business.

5. Set Up Your Stand on May 19th: Check the Lemonade Day Indianapolis Official Website. That site will be posting information about other places (in addition to your neighborhood) where you can set up your stand, so be sure to re-visit their web site in the coming days…..On May 19th, you’ll be one of thousands of kids across the Greater Indianapolis Area selling lemonade – think about how to stand out from your competitors and have a blast…and make some summer spending money!

Here are some books that have great tips for starting a business and some stories about other kids who gave it a try:
Starting a Business Starting Your Own Business Lemonade for Sale The Lemonade War
Olivia Opens a Lemonade Stand Lemons and Lemonade Alex and the Amazing Lemonade Stand Olivia Opens a Lemonade Stand
Print This Post Print This Post

Indianapolis’ African American Fire Fighters

Indianapolis’ African American Fire Fighters


In this online digital collection you can see pictures of Indianapolis African American Firefighters from the late 1800s until today. The pictures come from the Indianapolis Firefighters Museum and the Indianapolis Black Firefighters Association. View the Pictures

On May 19, 1876 Fire Chief W. O. Sherwood appointed the first four Black men to the Indianapolis Fire Department to replace four White firefighters on Hose Company 9, located at 31 West Saint Joseph Street. This station, eventually renumbered as Station 1 and relocated to 441 Indiana Avenue, grew to become an all-Black double company firehouse, with approximately 24 firefighters who rotated through two 24-hour shifts.

Black firefighters remained segregated from the rest of the Fire Department until the practice was officially ended on Jan. 1, 1960. Hired before integration in 1955, Joseph Kimbrew became the first Black Fire Chief of the Indianapolis Fire Department on January 19, 1987.

Fire Fighters to the Rescue Firefighters
Print This Post Print This Post
1 12 13 14 15 16 19