syndetics-lc
Requests on title: 0
Make Request
Other Versions

Blue plate special : an autobiography of my appetites / Kate Christensen.

Authors: Christensen, Kate, 1962-
Call number: B Christensen, Kate CHR
Publication: New York : Doubleday, [2013]
Publication date: [2013]
Subject: Women authors, American -- 21st century -- Biography.
Authors, American -- 21st century -- Biography.
Mothers and daughters -- United States.
Appetite -- Psychological aspects.
Food -- Psychological aspects.
Christensen, Kate, 1962-
Title: Blue plate special : an autobiography of my appetites / Kate Christensen.
Additional title: Autobiography of my appetites
Edition: First edition.
Physical description: 353 pages ; 22 cm
Contents note: Prologue -- Berkeley -- Wildermuth -- San Miguel -- Verde Valley and Spring Valley -- France -- Upstate, Oregon, Iowa -- New York -- Williamsburg and Greenpoint -- Monitor Street -- New England.
Summary note: "In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, [this book] is a narrative in which food--eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it--becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life. Christensen explores her history of hunger--not just for food but for love and confidence and a sense of belonging--with a profound honesty, starting with her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a mercurial legal activist who ruled the house with his fists"--Dust jacket flap.
A mouthwatering literary memoir about an unusual upbringing and the long, winding path to happiness. For Christensen, food and eating have always been powerful connectors to self and world. In this passionate feast of a memoir she reflects upon her journey of innocence lost and wisdom gained, mistakes made and lessons learned, and hearts broken and mended. And food-- eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it-- becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life.
ISBN: 9780385536264 (hbk.)
0385536267 (hbk.)
LCCN: 2012048556
Url for this record: http://sherloc.imcpl.org/?itemid=|library/marc/dynix|1443444
Bib No.: 1443444

Show Available
Item availability
Location Collection Call No. Status
Central Library Nonfiction, Adult B Christensen, Kate CHR Checked In
Central Library Nonfiction, Adult - Non-Floating B Christensen, Kate CHR Checked In
College Avenue Library Nonfiction, Adult B Christensen, Kate CHR Checked out
Glendale Library Nonfiction, Adult B Christensen, Kate CHR Checked In
Glendale Library Nonfiction, Adult B Christensen, Kate CHR Checked out
Nora Library Nonfiction, Adult B Christensen, Kate CHR Checked In
Nora Library Nonfiction, Adult B Christensen, Kate CHR Checked In
Nora Library Nonfiction, Adult B Christensen, Kate CHR Checked In
Nora Library Nonfiction, Adult B Christensen, Kate CHR Checked In
Nora Library Nonfiction, Adult B Christensen, Kate CHR Checked In
Warren Library Nonfiction, Adult B Christensen, Kate CHR Checked In
Warren Library Nonfiction, Adult B Christensen, Kate CHR Checked In